Loading...

Legend

Witness position (rotation angle = looking direction)

The witness heard a
delayed sound

The witness heard a
concurrent sound

First seen direction

The witness saw the fireball going from right to left.

The witness saw the fireball going from left to right.

Fireball direction vertical or unknow.

Last seen direction

1 Video

1 Photo

Id UTC Date
& Time
Local Date
& Time
City State Magn. Az./El. Delayed
Sound
Concur.
Sound
Exp. Level Notes
620a 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Taylors SC -9 P1: 10°/44°
P2: 355°/37°
No No 2 Of the 3 fireballs i've seen in the past year,...
620aa 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Seneca SC -27 P1: 315°/90°
P2: 315°/225°
No No 3 I have seen 3 of the biggest ,brightest and longest...
620ab 03/17
00:49 UTC
03/16
20:49 EDT
Lawndale NC -10 P1: 90°/90°
P2: 298°/20°
No No 4 Captured on my Sandia All Sky camera (Node 35)
620ac 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Lugoff SC -16 P1: 356°/71°
P2: 302°/?
No No 1 Not sure I entered everything correctly. It was pretty high...
620ad 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Clayton NC -6 P1: 265°/57°
P2: 289°/60°
No No 1 -
620ae 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Dawsonville GA -20 P1: 16°/45°
P2: 18°/30°
No No 2 Brightest and longest Sighting I have ever seen looked like...
620af 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
NC -6 P1: 85°/21°
P2: 48°/15°
No No 3 -
620ag 03/17
00:48 UTC
03/16
20:48 EDT
Decatur GA -25 P1: ?/36°
P2: ?/27°
No No 2 Extraordinary!
620ah 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Winnsboro SC -13 P1: 315°/270°
P2: 315°/0°
No No 3 Never seen anything this close or bright before
620ai 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Lake Wylie SC -13 P1: 315°/315°
P2: 45°/315°
No No 2 My daughter and I saw it while She was driving...
620aj 03/17
01:20 UTC
03/16
21:20 EDT
Marietta GA -7 P1: 90°/25°
P2: 62°/18°
No No 2 -
620ak 03/17
00:51 UTC
03/16
20:51 EDT
Martinez GA -27 P1: 56°/59°
P2: 320°/20°
No No 2 the blue ball had a red tail
620al 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Buford GA -25 P1: 331°/40°
P2: 17°/30°
No No 1 At about the same time we saw this, my grandparents...
620am 03/17
00:00 UTC
03/16
20:00 EDT
Commerce GA -20 P1: 19°/58°
P2: 4°/56°
No No 1 It was simply beautiful
620an 03/16
23:00 UTC
03/16
19:00 EDT
Statesville NC -15 P1: 30°/30°
P2: 5°/10°
No No 4 top 5 i have ever seen. Expcted a sonic bomb................
620ao 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Gillsville GA -17 P1: 75°/24°
P2: 30°/15°
No No 3 It was the best that I have seen yet!
620ap 03/17
00:55 UTC
03/16
20:55 EDT
Blacksburg VA -17 P1: 178°/59°
P2: 222°/55°
No No 3 -
620aq 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Mt Carmel TN -20 P1: 154°/52°
P2: 175°/?
No No 1 -
620ar 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
-11 P1: 164°/39°
P2: 242°/39°
No No 2 This was substantially larger and seemed slower moving than the...
620as 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Monroe NC -13 P1: 270°/180°
P2: 315°/225°
No No 1 -
620at 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Marietta GA -26 P1: ?/55°
P2: ?/25°
No No 1 -
620au 03/17
00:46 UTC
03/16
20:46 EDT
Norcross GA -15 P1: ?/39°
P2: ?/27°
No No 4 -
620av 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Dewey Rose GA -20 P1: 25°/45°
P2: 15°/0°
No No 2 -
620aw 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Mooresville NC -18 P1: 265°/59°
P2: 288°/35°
No No 2 -
620ax 03/17
00:56 UTC
03/16
20:56 EDT
Fort Mill SC -8 P1: 342°/62°
P2: 331°/17°
No No 4 -
620ay 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Madisonville TN -8 P1: 112°/39°
P2: 62°/36°
No No 4 The beautiful electric-blue color is something I'll never forget. This...
620az 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Douglasville GA -13 P1: 93°/65°
P2: 15°/25°
No No 4 Impressive
620b 03/17
00:51 UTC
03/16
20:51 EDT
Cornelius NC -9 P1: 315°/270°
P2: 315°/315°
No No 3 Amazing sight soaring across the sky! Wow!
620ba 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Bedford VA -13 P1: 245°/17°
P2: 275°/10°
No No 1 -
620bb 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Duluth GA -15 P1: 74°/26°
P2: 12°/17°
No No 1 It was very cool to see and I didn't believe...
620bc 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Roanoke VA -5 P1: 174°/31°
P2: 242°/25°
No No 4 I was watching TV and saw it out of my...
620bd 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Matthews NC -16 P1: 297°/37°
P2: 331°/25°
No No 2 It is the biggest one I've ever seen and lasted...
620be 03/17
00:40 UTC
03/16
20:40 EDT
Atlanta GA -10 P1: 35°/25°
P2: 17°/19°
No No 2 -
620bf 03/17
00:48 UTC
03/16
20:48 EDT
Charlotte NC -9 P1: 301°/69°
P2: 301°/19°
No 3 I have seen many, many "shooting stars" that are tiny,...
620bg 03/17
02:00 UTC
03/16
22:00 EDT
Bowman GA -20 P1: 68°/40°
P2: 15°/20°
No No 1 I have witnessed many shooting stars, this was very close,...
620bh 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Kings Mountain NC P1: 299°/66°
P2: 290°/11°
No No 3 The blue fireball had twin tails
620bi 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
kings mtn. NC -13 P1: 270°/315°
P2: 85°/315°
No No 3 -
620bj 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Purlear NC -13 P1: 309°/?
P2: 11°/55°
No No 4 Never seen anything like this. Was not looking for...
620bk 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Chesnee SC -25 P1: 37°/49°
P2: 331°/51°
No No 1 It was amazing to see.
620bl 03/17
00:48 UTC
03/16
20:48 EDT
Charlotte NC -8 P1: 301°/70°
P2: 301°/20°
No 3 In case I got the compass direction wrong, it was...
620bm 03/17
00:45 UTC
03/16
20:45 EDT
Pickens SC -19 P1: 72°/35°
P2: 360°/26°
No No 3 I have observed many meteor showers,but this is the first...
620bn 03/17
00:45 UTC
03/16
20:45 EDT
Charlotte NC -7 P1: 206°/45°
P2: 281°/15°
No No 4 Amateur astronomer 50+ years; brightest and longest meteor (?bolide) I've...
620bo 03/17
00:45 UTC
03/16
20:45 EDT
Johns Creek GA -16 P1: 50°/25°
P2: 24°/15°
No No 1 Fastest moving object I have ever seen
620bp 03/17
00:45 UTC
03/16
20:45 EDT
Oxford GA -24 P1: 69°/27°
P2: 26°/9°
No 3 we were looking at the big dipper when we saw...
620bq 03/17
00:30 UTC
03/16
20:30 EDT
NC -15 P1: 220°/47°
P2: 297°/37°
No No 2 -
620br 03/17
00:30 UTC
03/16
20:30 EDT
Conover NC -14 P1: 247°/21°
P2: 292°/17°
No No 1 -
620bs 03/17
00:40 UTC
03/16
20:40 EDT
Comer GA -7 P1: 81°/59°
P2: 56°/56°
No No 3 -
620bt 03/17
00:45 UTC
03/16
20:45 EDT
Hampton GA -17 P1: 30°/60°
P2: 336°/15°
No No 2 It just seemed to last longer than a shooting star...
620bu 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Prosperity SC -14 P1: 47°/53°
P2: 321°/35°
No No 1 Sitting around a quiet family campfire when this glowing white...
620bv 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
North Wilkesboro NC P1: 196°/35°
P2: 302°/41°
No No 1 it was really cool....I have never seen a meteor before...
620bw 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Lowell NC -15 P1: 170°/34°
P2: 315°/29°
No No 1 It looked like a fire cracker with red and green...
620bx 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Gainesville FL -5 P1: 45°/28°
P2: 315°/23°
No No 4 I was amazed to find out this event happened over...
620by 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Cumming GA -9 P1: 77°/21°
P2: 37°/13°
No No 3 Best one I've seen..
620bz 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Salem VA -8 P1: 198°/?
P2: 238°/27°
No No 1 I was driving in my car, and as I came...
620c 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Pulaski VA -8 P1: ?/51°
P2: ?/27°
No No 4 I've been looking at the sky for years and I'm...
620ca 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Rockmart GA -18 P1: 34°/35°
P2: 349°/27°
No No 1 -
620cb 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Luthersville GA -22 P1: 82°/35°
P2: 23°/17°
No No 3 -
620cc 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Gainesville GA -20 P1: 90°/22°
P2: 190°/59°
No No 1 This was the second most awesome natural event I have...
620cd 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Cleveland TN -16 P1: 106°/15°
P2: 76°/1°
No No 3 It was the biggest and the slowest (longest visible time)...
620ce 03/17
00:55 UTC
03/16
20:55 EDT
Athens TN -20 P1: 315°/45°
P2: 45°/45°
No 2 Ive seen several meteors of what people call shooting stars...
620cf 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Asheville NC -21 P1: 117°/34°
P2: 20°/31°
No No 2 It was remarkable. It was so bright and clear....
620cg 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Simpsonville SC -13 P1: 94°/46°
P2: 21°/45°
No No 1 -
620ch 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
York SC -13 P1: 354°/82°
P2: 333°/79°
No No 2 I was at a friend's house when I saw it....
620ci 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Conyers GA -24 P1: 34°/17°
P2: ?/14°
No No 1 -
620cj 03/17
01:01 UTC
03/16
21:01 EDT
-15 P1: 50°/40°
P2: 53°/?
2 -
620ck 03/17
01:15 UTC
03/16
21:15 EDT
Loganville GA -22 P1: 96°/31°
P2: 34°/12°
No No 3 -
620cl 03/17
01:30 UTC
03/16
21:30 EDT
VA -24 P1: 175°/31°
P2: 245°/33°
No No 1 -
620cm 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
19:50 CDT
Munford AL -21 P1: 113°/?
P2: 11°/20°
No No 1 -
620cn 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Richmond VA -5 P1: 210°/40°
P2: 270°/35°
No No 3 The odd thing (to me) about this sighting was that...
620co 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Gastonia NC -7 P1: 31°/90°
P2: 300°/45°
No No 3 I was just out in my folk's driveway walking some...
620cp 03/17
00:45 UTC
03/16
20:45 EDT
Lawrenceville GA -7 P1: 68°/?
P2: 31°/31°
No No 2 There was a sllight yellow white trail ( almost non-existant,very...
620cq 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Atlanta GA P1: 40°/51°
P2: 49°/49°
No No 1 -
620cr 03/17
00:52 UTC
03/16
20:52 EDT
Charlotte NC -22 P1: 234°/42°
P2: 302°/31°
No No 1 What I saw was large enough and so bright and...
620cs 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Anderson SC P1: 35°/?
P2: 355°/?
No No 1 Several witnesses. Music was playing therefore couldn't tell if a...
620ct 03/17
00:52 UTC
03/16
20:52 EDT
Hoschton GA -14 P1: 142°/52°
P2: 19°/?
No No 1 The brightest falling star I have ever seen...it was amazing!
620cu 03/16
23:00 UTC
03/16
19:00 EDT
Easley SC -27 P1: 83°/37°
P2: 356°/6°
No No 1 I had never heard of fireballs until seeing it today...
620d 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
SC P1: 37°/?
P2: 299°/58°
No No 3 -
620e 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Woodstock GA -18 P1: 40°/29°
P2: 22°/26°
No No 4 It reminded me of the Peekskill fireball, without fragmentation. I...
620f 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Rock Hill SC -22 P1: 346°/73°
P2: 301°/25°
No No 3 brightest shooting star I have ever seen ...usually see one...
620g 03/17
00:48 UTC
03/16
20:48 EDT
Lakemont GA -19 P1: 15°/31°
P2: 350°/25°
No No 4 Facebook is getting active with similar accounts of this same...
620h 03/17
00:46 UTC
03/16
20:46 EDT
Concord NC -13 P1: 269°/33°
P2: 335°/19°
No No 1 there was an airplane visible in sky near the fireball...
620i 03/17
00:46 UTC
03/16
20:46 EDT
Signal Mountain TN -8 P1: 85°/26°
P2: 61°/19°
No No 1 Largest Shooting star I have ever seen in my...
620j 03/17
00:45 UTC
03/16
20:45 EDT
Columbia SC -9 P1: 315°/0°
P2: 45°/315°
No No 1 -
620k 03/17
00:45 UTC
03/16
20:45 EDT
Statesville NC -26 P1: 137°/55°
P2: 284°/29°
No 2 I actually thought it was fireworks at first until how...
620l 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Greenville SC P1: 38°/17°
P2: 354°/15°
No No 3 The best meteor I have ever seen.
620m 03/17
00:55 UTC
03/16
20:55 EDT
Parris Island SC -6 P1: 35°/77°
P2: 335°/24°
No No 4 Could not tell if there was a trail or fragmentation...
620n 03/17
00:57 UTC
03/16
20:57 EDT
dallas GA P1: 0°/?
P2: 0°/?
No No 1 -
620o 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Chamblee GA -10 P1: 59°/14°
P2: 41°/11°
No No 4 I live near to an airport and thought I saw...
620q 03/17
01:20 UTC
03/16
21:20 EDT
VA -24 P1: 100°/45°
P2: 235°/45°
No No 3 -
620s 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Chamblee GA -10 P1: 66°/19°
P2: 39°/9°
No No 3 It was as bright as a passing helicopter or airplane,...
620u 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Rock Hill SC -10 P1: 314°/90°
P2: 313°/34°
No No 3 -
620v 03/17
00:45 UTC
03/16
20:45 EDT
Dacula GA -24 P1: 45°/33°
P2: 14°/1°
No No 1 I never seen such a thing like that. It was...
620w 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Marietta GA -13 P1: 315°/90°
P2: 315°/45°
No No 2 -
620x 03/17
01:00 UTC
03/16
21:00 EDT
Salem VA -7 P1: 55°/225°
P2: 0°/270°
No No 3 I've seen many, many "shooting stars", and watched meteor showers...
620y 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Dublin GA -20 P1: 37°/25°
P2: 22°/22°
No No 3 -
620z 03/17
00:50 UTC
03/16
20:50 EDT
Salem VA -7 P1: 185°/40°
P2: 233°/33°
No No 3 Was driving Southbound on I-81 just north of exit 132...